Deutsch Home & News About IFEU Reference list Contact & staff Sitemap Search
Waste Management education Energy Industry & Emmissions Biomass & Food Sustainability Life Cycle Assessment Riskassessment EIA & SEA Traffic & Environment
Biomass & Food
You are here: Biomass & FoodFood Production – Biobasierte Kunststoffe dt.

Projekt

(Bulk) purchase of bio-based plastic products in the public and entrepreneurial sectors – criteria, selection, incentives

 
nach oben

 

 

 

Sponsor

 

 

Federal Ministry for Food and Agriculture (Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft)

 

 

 

Project Management

 

Agency for Renewable Resources (Fachagentur Nachwachsende Rohstoffe)

 

 

 

Project Partners

 

 

 
 
nach oben

 

 

 

Abstract

 

In collaboration with narocon InnovationConsulting Berlin and the law office DAGEFÖRDE Öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht Hannover, the Institute for Energy and Environmental Research (ifeu) Heidelberg is carrying out the project

(Bulk) purchase of bio-based plastic products in the public and entrepreneurial sectors- criteria, selection, incentives

commissioned by the German Federal Ministry for Food and Agriculture and funded through the “Renewable Resources” initiative (Project ID FKZ 22025415). The project explores the potential to implement the instrument of ‘sustainable and innovative procurement’ for bio-based plastics, or to enable implementation to facilitate market launch.


The bioecomony strategy of the Federal Government seeks a shift toward renewable resources to conserve resources and mitigate climate change. Thus, it provides a strong motivation to explore applications for bio-based plastics, which are among the most promising product innovations of the bio-based economy. Due to the development to date and their considerable potential, bio-based plastics exemplify the change from a linear economy near-exclusively based on fossil feedstocks to a circular economy that relies on the manufacture of products primarily from renewable resources. Although a number of bio-based plastics and a variety of products are already available in different sectors, the general market launch of bio-based plastics in Germany is still in its infancy. For a multitude of reasons, the development of bio-based plastics including anticipated positive effects and wide market penetration is in the interest of State, economy and society. In the present project, the project partners are looking for ways to introduce and promote bio-based plastics in bulk purchase in the public sector, an area ruled by economic principle, yet carefully regulated through strict legislation.


The most recent German law on public procurement based on EU legislation adopted in 2014 explicitly specifies a certain latitude to integrate innovative character or ecological and social criteria into the procurement procedure. The goal is the promotion of sustainable development and innovation. Thus, bio-based products could benefit from the considerable purchasing power of the German public sector. Private organisation could follow the example of public authorities and in turn begin to implement entrepreneurial sustainability strategies. Both the State and a considerable number of businesses have made climate protection and sustainable development part of their agenda. The present project also aims to explore and adapt the requirements associated with sustainability criteria to render the existing stipulations practical and applicable. Environmental or quality certification systems and criteria are already available; however, they often lack popularity, practicability or value for money. This is particularly relevant for new markets and small and medium-size businesses. As a guiding principle, innovations equally require coordination and room for progress to advance, develop and realise their potential. Sustainability is the goal, yet there are many steps to take on the path towards it.


The project will analyse the existing demand in several categories in the public sector and compare that demand with the potential spectrum of products of offer. Moreover, the requirements that products and producers (can) fulfil during the procurement process will be examined for their suitability to comply with ecological and technological-economic regulations. Solutions and existing gaps will be identified and recommendations for practical application will be made. An in-depth dialogue with producers and buyers is essential for the project. Workshops with all relevant stakeholders will facilitate exchange of information and unite all parties in the search for solutions. The future stakeholder network will not be limited to Germany, but rather be actively integrated into a larger framework of European projects with a similar focus.


During the first stage of the project, a feasibility analysis and the establishment of a network will be the main priority. The status quo will be defined in legal, economic and ecological terms. Potentials, barriers and ways to overcome impediments have to be explored. In a proposed second stage, communication and lighthouse projects with the goal of ‘Implementation in procurement and purchase practice’ could the key focus.

 

 
 
 
nach oben

 
 

Contact

 

ifeu: Andreas Detzel; andreas.detzel@ifeu.de
narocon: Harald Käb; kaeb@narocon.de
Kanzlei Dageförde: Angela Dageförde; assistenz@kanzlei-dagefoerde.de

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Duration

 

09/2016 – 03/2018

 
 
nach oben

 
 Printer friendly  Tell a friend Last updated: 28 Nov 2016

English English Startseite & Aktuelles Das Institut Referenzen Kontakt & Impressum Sitemap Suchen
Abfallwirtschaft Bildung & Information Energie Industrie & Emissionen Biomasse & Lebensmittel Nachhaltigkeit Ökobilanzen Risikobewertung UVP & SUP Verkehr & Umwelt
Biomasse & Lebensmittel
Sie befinden sich hier: Home - Biomasse & Lebensmittel - Lebensmittel - Biobasierte Kunststoffe

Projekt

Produkte aus biobasierten Kunststoffen im öffentlichen und unternehmerischen (Groß-)Einkauf – Kriterien, Auswahl, Anreize

 
nach oben

 

 

 

Zuwendungsgeber

 

 

Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft

 

 

 

Projektträger

 

Fachagentur Nachwachsende Rohstoffe

 

 

 

Projekt Partner

 
Logo Dagefoerde

 

 
 
nach oben

 

 

 

Kurzbeschreibung

 

Das Institut für Energie- und Umweltforschung (ifeu) in Heidelberg bearbeitet, in Kooperation mit narocon Innovationsberatung in Berlin und der Anwaltskanzlei DAGEFÖRDE Öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht in Hannover, im Rahmen des Förderprogramms „Nachwachsende Rohstoffe“ des Bundesministeriums für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL) das Vorhaben (FKZ 22025415)

Produkte aus biobasierten Kunststoffen im öffentlichen und unternehmerischen (Groß-)Einkauf – Kriterien, Auswahl, Anreize.

Das Projekt untersucht die Möglichkeit, das Instrument "Nachhaltige und Innovative Beschaffung" auf die wachsende Produktwelt der biobasierten Kunststoffe anzuwenden bzw. anwendbar zu machen, um ihre Markteinführung zu fördern.


Eine wichtige Legitimation dazu ist die Bioökonomie-Strategie der Bundesregierung, nach der ein Rohstoffwechsel zur Schonung des Klimas und der Ressourcen angestrebt wird. Biobasierte Kunststoffe zählen zu den aussichtsreichsten Produktinnovationen einer biobasierten Wirtschaft. Auf Grund ihrer bisherigen Entwicklung und ihres Potenzials stehen sie beispielhaft für den Wandel von einer bislang nahezu ausschließlich auf fossile Rohstoffe ausgerichteten linearen Wirtschaftsweise, hin zu einer kreislauforientierten Wirtschaftsweise, bei der Produkte primär aus erneuerbaren Rohstoffen erzeugt werden. Zwar gibt es bereits eine Reihe von biobasierten Kunststoffen und eine Vielzahl an Produkten in unterschiedlichen Anwendungssegmenten, doch steht ihre Markteinführung in Deutschland noch ganz am Anfang. Staat, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft haben aus vielerlei Gründen Interesse an der Entwicklung der erhofften positiven Effekte und ihrem Marktdurchbruch. Die Beteiligten des Projektes suchen nach Wegen, um im rechtlich reglementierten, gleichzeitig ökonomisch dominierten öffentlichen Großeinkauf biobasierten Kunststoffprodukten zu deutlich mehr Berücksichtigung zu verhelfen.


Das neueste deutsche Vergaberecht für die öffentliche Beschaffung lässt auf Basis des seit 2014 geltenden EU Rechts expliziten Spielraum, den innovativen Charakter sowie ökologische und soziale Kriterien in den Vergabeprozess zu integrieren, um damit nachhaltige Entwicklung und Innovation zu fördern. Biobasierten Produkten bietet es die Chance, von der enormen Kaufkraft der öffentlichen Hand in Deutschland zu profitieren. Private Organisationen können den Einkauf öffentlicher Träger als Vorbild nutzen, um unternehmerische Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien ebenso in Handlung umzusetzen. Nicht nur der Staat, auch viele Unternehmen haben sich dem Klimaschutz und der Nachhaltigen Entwicklung verschrieben. Das Projekt soll auch dazu dienen, die Forderungen, die zur Erfüllung von Nachhaltigkeitskriterien an Produkte zu stellen sind, praktikabel und anwendbar zu machen. Umwelt- und Gütezeichen sowie andere Systeme und Kriterien zum Nachweis gibt es bereits, doch mangelt es ihnen oft an Popularität, Praktikabilität oder Preiswürdigkeit - gerade mit Blick auf entstehende Märkte und KMUs. Als Leitlinie soll hierbei gelten: Innovationen brauchen Geleit und Entwicklungsspielraum gleichermaßen, damit sie ihr Potenzial entwickeln und ausschöpfen. Nachhaltigkeit ist ein Ziel, der Weg erfordert viele Schritte.


Im Projekt wird der Bedarf der öffentlichen Hand in verschiedenen Kategorien dem potenziellen Produktspektrum gegenübergestellt. Es wird untersucht, welche Voraussetzungen an die Produkte und Produzenten in Beschaffungsprozessen gestellt werden (können), damit sie ökologische und technisch-ökonomische Vorgaben erfüllen können. Lösungen und bestehende Lücken werden identifiziert und mit Vorschlägen zum praktikablen Umgang ausgestattet. Im Rahmen des Projekts wird ein intensiver Dialog mit der Produzenten- und Einkäuferseite geführt. Workshops mit allen wichtigen Interessensgruppen dienen dem Informationsaustausch und der gemeinsamen Suche nach Lösungen. Das zu bildende Netzwerk der Handelnden soll dabei nicht auf Deutschland beschränkt bleiben, eine aktive Anbindung an europäische Projekte mit ähnlicher Schlagrichtung ist geplant.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Ansprechpartner

 

ifeu: Bendedikt Kauertz; benedikt.kauertz@ifeu.de
narocon: Harald Käb; kaeb@narocon.de
Kanzlei Dageförde: Angela Dageförde; assistenz@kanzlei-dagefoerde.de

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Laufzeit

 

09/2016 – 03/2018

 
 
nach oben

 
 Druckversion  Link zu dieser Seite versenden Letzte Änderung: 28. 11. 2016

 

englishBitte beachten Sie:

Die meisten Informationen zu unseren Projekten, Arbeiten, Aktivitäten und Publikationen zum Thema Biomasse & Lebensmittel einschließlich der dazugehörigen Ökobilanzen, nachwachsenden Rohstoffe etc. führen wir derzeit ausschließlich auf Englisch.