Deutsch Home & News About IFEU Reference list Contact & staff Sitemap Search
Waste Management education Energy Industry & Emmissions Biomass & Food Sustainability Life Cycle Assessment Riskassessment EIA & SEA Traffic & Environment
Sustainability
You are here: Sustainability – Introduction

Sustainability

           

 

 

Sustainable Development – what is it exactly?

 

There is hardly another term that has sparked so much activity and at the same time has been so misused as sustainability – or better yet - sustainable development. Sustainable consumption, sustainable corporate management, sustainable products – these are just a few key words that crop up again and again. The German Federal Government has established a sustainability committee and businesses issue sustainability reports. The approach can be traced back to the crucial problem faced by developing countries and industrialised countries of how all people on Earth can be guaranteed a reasonable quality of life without destroying the natural means of subsistence.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Origin

 

The concept was defined for the first time in 1987 in the Brundtland Report of the World Commission on Environment and Development to the UN and is still generally accepted today. It states that "Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs".

Two key terms are important here:

  • The term «needs», especially the basic needs of the poorest in the world, which should have utmost priority, and
  • the idea of restrictions that are exerted by the state of technology and social organisation on the environment’s ability to satisfy current and future needs.

The conference held in Rio de Janeiro in 1992 anchored the concept of sustainable development in Agenda 21 and adopted concrete aims.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Dead end?

 

To what extent the term “Sustainable development“ is used or sometimes misused when compared to the orginal concept must be left to the individual to decide for him/herself. In our opinion, the three pillars often applied to assessing sustainable development (economy, ecology and social aspect) could be a dead end street. They may be helpful as an organising principle, however weighing between the pillars poses problems such as determining a connection between economic growth of x% with an emission of y times tons of carbon dioxide which is hardly possible. Furthermore, one would have to decide whether or not the unemployment rate should be classified as economic or social.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

ifeu`s approach

 

As an ecological research institute, ifeu faces the challenge of implementing the principle of sustainable development in its original definition. Even if compromises must be made in individual projects, we always strive to return our focus to the original guideline. ifeu has made contributions to

  • Local Agenda processes
  • Implementing the guideline for businesses
  • Sector-related implementation for fields such as mobility, energy management or waste management
  • Sustainability reporting of the German Federal government


Particularly in the case of sustainability reporting, ifeu has done extensive work on developing and selecting key indicators for measuring sustainability, together with experts in other specialist fields for the Federal Environment Ministry and the German Inter-Ministerial Commission for Sustainable Development.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

We invite

 

those of you working on the project of "sustainable development" who want to explore new ways to approach us to seek possible solutions or exchange ideas.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Main topics of our work

 

You can currently find more information on the following topics:

Indicators for Sustainable Development

Indicators for Raw Material Usage

Raw Material Equivalents - Eurostat

Sustainable Biomass

Social-Ecological Research

Sustainability and Waste Management

-> List of Projects "Sustainability"

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Contact

 

Jürgen Giegrich
(06221/4767-21;
juergen.giegrich@ifeu.de).

Contact for "Local Agenda Processes" is Markus Duscha
(06221/4767-18); markus.duscha@ifeu.de).

 
 
nach oben

 
 Printer friendly  Tell a friend Last updated: 09 Nov 2015

English English Startseite & Aktuelles Das Institut Referenzen Kontakt & Impressum Sitemap Suchen
Abfallwirtschaft Bildung & Information Energie Industrie & Emissionen Biomasse & Lebensmittel Nachhaltigkeit Ökobilanzen Risikobewertung UVP & SUP Verkehr & Umwelt
Nachhaltigkeit
Sie befinden sich hier: Home - Nachhaltigkeit - Einführung

Nachhaltigkeit

           

 

 

Nachhaltige Entwicklung - ein schillerndes Konzept

 

Kaum ein anderer Begriff hat in den vergangenen Jahren so viel angestoßen und ist ebenso oft missbraucht worden wie Nachhaltigkeit – oder besser: nachhaltige Entwicklung. Nachhaltiger Konsum, nachhaltige Unternehmensführung, nachhaltige Produkte sind nur einige Stichworte, die immer wieder genannt werden. Die Bundesregierung hat einen Nachhaltigkeitsbeirat eingerichtet und Unternehmen erstellen Nachhaltigkeitsberichte. Dabei geht der Ansatz auf das wichtige Ansinnen zwischen Entwicklungsländern und Industrieländern zurück, wie allen Menschen auf der Erde eine vernünftige Lebensqualität gewährleistet werden kann, ohne die natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen zu zerstören.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Ursprung und Sackgasse

 

Zum ersten Mal und auch heute noch weitgehend akzeptiert hat die „UN-Kommission (Brundtland-Kommission)“ 1987 das Konzept definiert: Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist ...eine Entwicklung, die die Bedürfnisse der Gegenwart befriedigt, ohne zu riskieren, dass künftige Generationen ihre Bedürfnisse nicht befriedigen können.“

Zwei Schlüsselbegriffe sind wichtig:

  • Der Begriff von „Bedürfnisse“, insbesondere der Grundbedürfnisse der Ärmsten der Welt, die die überwiegende Priorität haben sollten; und
  • Der Gedanke von Beschränkungen, die der Stand der Technologie und sozialen Organisation auf die Fähigkeit der Umwelt ausübt, gegenwärtige und zukünftige Bedürfnisse zu befriedigen.“

Die Konferenz von Rio de Janeiro 1992 hat das Konzept der nachhaltigen Entwicklung in der Agenda 21 schließlich konkretisiert und Ziele gesetzt.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Sackgasse

 

Ob und wie der Begriff vor dem Hintergrund seiner eigentlichen Intention gebraucht und manchmal missbraucht wird, möge jeder für sich entscheiden. Als eine Sackgasse zur Bewertung nachhaltiger Entwicklung haben sich unserer Meinung nach die oft verwendeten drei Säulen Ökonomie, Ökologie und Soziales erwiesen. Sie mögen als Ordnungsprinzip zwar hilfreich sein, doch eine Abwägung zwischen den Säulen wirft Bewertungsprobleme auf, die an dem eigentlichen Ursprung des Begriffes vorbeigehen. So ist eine Verknüpfung eines Wirtschaftswachstums von x % mit einer Emission von y t Kohlendioxid nur schwer möglich. Oder es ist müßig zu entscheiden, ob die Arbeitslosenrate zur ökonomischen oder sozialen Säule gehört.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Ansätze des ifeu

 

Als ökologisches Forschungsinstitut stellt sich das ifeu der Herausforderung, dem Leitbild „nachhaltige Entwicklung“ in seinem ursprünglichen Sinn Leben einzuhauchen. Auch, wenn in einzelnen Projekten Kompromisse eingegangen werden müssen, findet immer wieder eine Rückbesinnung auf das Leitbild statt. Beiträge hat das ifeu geleistet für:

  • Lokale Agenda–Prozesse
  • Umsetzung des Leitbildes für Unternehmen
  • Sektorbezogene Umsetzung wie etwa für die Mobilität, die Energiewirtschaft oder die Abfallwirtschaft
  • die nationale Berichterstattung


Gerade bei letzterem hat das ifeu – Institut mit Unterstützung von Experten anderer Fachrichtungen das Bundesumweltministerium und den Interministeriellen Ausschuss (IMA) „Nachhaltige Entwicklung“ der Bundesregierung bei der Erarbeitung und Auswahl von Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren unterstützt.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Einladung

 

Wer immer auch an der Baustelle "nachhaltige Entwicklung" arbeitet und neue Wege ausprobieren möchte, ist herzlich eingeladen, mit uns in einen Dialog einzutreten.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Arbeitsschwerpunkte

 

Derzeit finden Sie genauere Informationen zu folgenden Arbeitsschwerpunkten:

Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren

Indikatoren für den Rohstoffverbrauch

Nachhaltige Biomasse

Rohstoffäquivalente - Eurostat

Sozial-ökologische Forschung

Nachhaltigkeit und Abfallwirtschaft

-> Referenzliste "Nachhaltigkeit"

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Ansprechpartner

 

Ansprechpartner für den Bereich Nachhaltigkeit ist Jürgen Giegrich
(06221/4767-21;
juergen.giegrich@ifeu.de).

Ansprechpartner für den Bereich Lokale Agenda ist Markus Duscha
(06221/4767-18); markus.duscha@ifeu.de).

 
 
nach oben

 
 Druckversion  Link zu dieser Seite versenden Letzte Änderung: 09. 11. 2015