Deutsch Home & News About IFEU Reference list Contact & staff Sitemap Search
Waste Management education Energy Industry & Emmissions Biomass & Food Sustainability Life Cycle Assessment Riskassessment EIA & SEA Traffic & Environment
Risk Assessment
You are here: Risk Assessment – Introduction

Risk Assessment

           

 

 

Environmental assets and damages

 

"Risk" is a term with multiple meanings. One knows of environmental risks and term life assurance just as the investment risk of buying a share. "Risk" means literally the combination of damages and the probability of their occurrence. One knows that from traffic safety. The probability of being injured in a car accident is higher than that from plane crash, because car accidents happen more often. On the other hand, the possible damage caused by a plane crash is higher than that caused by a car accident. Both of the risk can be calculated with available statistical data.

Environmental risks refer to, above all, the actual environmental assets, that are affected by the risk of being destroyed or damaged:

  • Soil
  • Water
  • Air
  • Flora and Fauna
  • Human
  • Others (climate, agriculture etc.)

One can understand environmental risks as the damage of an environmental asset from an environmental danger. Similarly one can perceive radiation protection as the health risk that a person is exposed to from a certain dose of radiation.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

ifeu's work on environmental assets...

...and on damages

 

 

 

Many ifeu projects, whether related to the licensing process of facilities or specific research proposals, have a clear connection to an environmental asset. They can be about one single environmental asset, such as the projects on climate protection or soil protection or multiple assets in their dynamic relationship such as the assessment of all environmental assets in the framework of licensing processes (see EIA and SEA). They always aim to detect and assess the risk of the environmental assets.

ifeu has a long tradition in investigating and assessing the danger of radiation. This refers to radiation from nuclear facilities in normal operation as well as disrupted incidents and accidents. We have also investigated the effects of non-ionizing UV-radiation and the radiation from radar equipments. Our colleague Bernd Franke is member of the Radiation Protection Committee and was member of the Radar Committee. Furthermore, the new EU chemical law (REACH) is a subject of research and consultancy projects of ifeu.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Main research areas

 

Currently you can find more detailed information on the following research areas:

Soil Protection

Water Protection

Cross-Media Evaluation

Chemicals Policy

Radiation Protection

List of "Risk Assessment" Projects

 

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Contact

 

Bernd Franke
(06221/4767-23;
bernd.franke@ifeu.de).

 
 
nach oben

 
 Printer friendly  Tell a friend Last updated: 09 Nov 2015

English English Startseite & Aktuelles Das Institut Referenzen Kontakt & Impressum Sitemap Suchen
Abfallwirtschaft Bildung & Information Energie Industrie & Emissionen Biomasse & Lebensmittel Nachhaltigkeit Ökobilanzen Risikobewertung UVP & SUP Verkehr & Umwelt
Risikobewertung
Sie befinden sich hier: Home - Risikobewertung - Einführung

Risikobewertung

           

 

 

Schutzgüter und Schäden

 

Risiko ist ein vielfältig verwendeter Begriff. Man kennt Umweltrisiken und eine Risikolebensversicherung ebenso wie das Anlagenrisiko einer Aktie. Im eigentlichen Wortsinn bedeutet Risiko die Kombination aus Schaden und der Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit dieses Schadens. Man kennt es aus der Verkehrssicherheit. Die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit, einen Autounfall zu erleiden ist höher als mit einem Flugzeug abzustürzen, da Autounfälle häufiger vorkommen. Umgekehrt ist jedoch der mögliche Schaden bei einem Flugzeugabsturz höher als bei einem Autounfall. Das Risiko lässt sich anhand statistischer Daten jeweils berechnen.

Umweltrisiken beziehen sich in erster Linie auf die eigentlichen Schutzgüter, die durch das Risiko einer Vernichtung oder Beeinträchtigung betroffen sind:

  • Boden
  • Wasser
  • Luft
  • Flora und Fauna
  • Mensch
  • Andere (Klima, Landschaft etc.)

Man kann Umweltrisiken jedoch auch als Beeinträchtigung eines Schutzgutes durch eine Umweltgefahr begreifen. So ist Strahlenschutz zu sehen als das Gesundheitsrisiko, dem ein Mensch bei einer bestimmten Dosis an radioaktiven Strahlen ausgesetzt ist.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

ifeu arbeitet schutzgutbezogen...

 

 

...und gefahrenbezogen

 

 

Viele Arbeiten des ifeu, sei es im Genehmigungsverfahren für Anlagen oder in bestimmten Forschungsvorhaben, haben einen ausgewiesenen Schutzgutbezug. Sie können sich auf ein einzelnes Schutzgut beziehen wie etwa die Arbeiten zum Klimaschutz oder Bodenschutz oder mehrere in ihrer Wechselbeziehung wie etwa bei der Prüfung aller Schutzgüter im Rahmen von Genehmigungsverfahren (s. UVP und SUP). Immer gehört dazu, das Risiko bezüglich des oder der Schutzgüter zu ermitteln und zu bewerten.

Das ifeu hat eine lange Tradition bei der Ermittlung und Bewertung von Gefahren durch radioaktive Strahlung. Das gilt sowohl für Strahlung von kerntechnischen Anlagen im Normalbetrieb als auch bei Störfällen und Unfällen. Auch die Wirkungen nicht-ionisierender UV-Strahlung oder die Strahlung durch Radargeräte wurden untersucht. Bernd Franke vom ifeu war Mitglied der Strahlenschutzkommission und der Radarkommission. Auch die neue EU-Chemikalienverordnung (REACH) ist Gegenstand von Forschungs- und Beratungsprojekten am ifeu.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Arbeitsschwerpunkte

 

Derzeit finden Sie genauere Informationen zu folgenden Arbeitsschwerpunkten:

Schutzgut Boden

Schutzgut Wasser

Medienübergreifende Bewertung

Chemikalien

Strahlenschutz

-> Referenzliste "Risikobewertung/Strahlenschutz"

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Ansprechpartner

 

Ansprechpartner für den Bereich Risikobewertung ist Bernd Franke
(06221/4767-23;
bernd.franke@ifeu.de).

 
 
nach oben

 
 Druckversion  Link zu dieser Seite versenden Letzte Änderung: 09. 11. 2015