Deutsch Home & News About IFEU Reference list Contact & staff Sitemap Search
Waste Management education Energy Industry & Emmissions Biomass & Food Sustainability Life Cycle Assessment Riskassessment EIA & SEA Traffic & Environment
Life Cycle Assessment
You are here: Life Cycle Assessment – Introduction

Life Cycle Assessment

           

 

 

What is a life cycle analysis?

 

A life cycle analysis is a method, an instrument. It enables the user to describe systems and determine the environmental pollution and damage caused by these systems. It is the first and until now the only instrument for environmental assessment that has been homogenised according to an ISO standard worldwide.

Life cycle analysis (LCA) according to DIN/EN/ISO 14040:
Compilation and evaluation of the inputs, outputs and the potential environmental impacts of a product system throughout its life.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

IFEU and life cycle analyses

 

Life cycle analyses have experienced an unbelievable boom since the beginning of 1990s. IFEU came to into contact with this method for the first time in 1986. There had been a demand for reduction of waste within the framework of concepts for waste management, such as the effort invested in the avoidance of disposable products. Justifiably, manufacturers pointed to the fact that environmental pollution is caused at different stages of the lifespan of reusable products (e.g. washing of reusable bottles) as well. Taking the example of covering materials used for operations in hospitals, a disposable option made of paper fibre was compared with a reusable textile option for the first time in 1986.

IFEU has since then conducted numerous studies of great diversity using life cycle analyses. We have also been active in the development of the method used for the ISO process, and contributed to other related efforts.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Analyses of packaging and biofuels

 

GetraenkeverpackungenNumerous projects in the area of environmental impact assessment of packaging certainly stand out, beginning with the first study conducted for the Federal Environment Agency (UBA)in 1991. This work still influences how opinions are formed and legislation today. Additionally, life cycle analysis was developed to become a method for the evaluation of waste management options which can be viewed as systems in the same way as the production process is viewed as a system. This approach is still frequently being applied today.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Main areas of our work

 

Currently you can find more detailed information on the following areas of our work:

LCA for Products

LCA for Waste Management

LCA for Packaging Systems

Bioenergy

Ecoprofiles / Ecoefficiency

Integrated Product Policy

Critical Review

Software: Umberto®

-> List of Projects "LCA"

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Contact person

 

Jürgen Giegrich (06221/4767-21; juergen.giegrich@ifeu.de)

 
 Printer friendly  Tell a friend Last updated: 11 May 2010

 

Umberto

English English Startseite & Aktuelles Das Institut Referenzen Kontakt & Impressum Sitemap Suchen
Abfallwirtschaft Bildung & Information Energie Industrie & Emissionen Biomasse & Lebensmittel Nachhaltigkeit Ökobilanzen Risikobewertung UVP & SUP Verkehr & Umwelt
Ökobilanzen
Sie befinden sich hier: Home - Ökobilanzen - Einführung

Ökobilanzen

           

 

 

Was ist eine Ökobilanz

 

Eine Ökobilanz ist eine Methode, ist ein Instrument. Es versetzt in die Lage, Systeme zu beschreiben und die Umweltbelastungen von Systemen zu bestimmen. Es ist das erste und bisher einzige Instrument der Umweltbewertung, das weltweit in einer ISO-Norm standardisiert wurde.

Ökobilanz (LCA) nach DIN/EN/ISO 14040:
Zusammenstellung und Beurteilung der Input- und Outputflüsse und der potenziellen Umweltwirkungen eines Produktsystems im Verlauf seines Lebensweges.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Das ifeu und Ökobilanzen

 

Ökobilanzen haben seit Anfang der 90er Jahre einen unbeschreiblichen Aufschwung erlebt. Das ifeu kam erstmals 1986 in Kontakt mit der Methode. Im Rahmen von Abfallwirtschaftskonzepten wurde immer wieder die Abfallvermeidung herausgehoben, in dem z.B. auf den Verzicht von Einwegprodukten hingewirkt wurde. Zu Recht hatten dann deren Hersteller darauf hingewiesen, dass bei entsprechenden Mehrwegprodukten Umweltbelastungen an anderen Stellen des Produktlebensweges auftreten (z.B. Waschen von Mehrwegflaschen). Am Beispiel von Abdeckmaterialien bei Operationen im Krankenhaus wurde so 1986 erstmals die Wegwerfvariante aus Papierfasern mit der wiederverwendbaren Textilvariante verglichen.

Seitdem hat das ifeu in zahlreichen Ökobilanzen die vielfältigsten Untersuchungen angestellt und sich auch aktiv an der Entwicklung der Methode im ISO-Prozess und in anderen Zusammenhängen beteiligt.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Bilanzierung von Verpackungen und Bioenergieträgern

 

GetränkeverpackungenHerausragend sind sicherlich die zahlreichen Arbeiten im Bereich der ökologischen Bilanzierung von Verpackungen, die mit der ersten UBA-Studie 1991 begannen und bis heute auch die Meinungsbildung und Gesetzgebung beeinflussen. Darüber hinaus wurden die Ökobilanzen auch früh zur Bewertung von Bioenergieträgern eingesetzt. Hinzu kam die methodische Entwicklung der Ökobilanz zur Bewertung von abfallwirtschaftlichen Optionen, die wie Produktsysteme ebenfalls Systeme darstellen und bis heute vielfach angewendet werden.

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Unsere Arbeitsschwer-
punkte

 

Derzeit finden Sie genauere Informationen zu folgenden Arbeitsschwerpunkten:

Produktökobilanzen

Ökobilanzen der Abfallwirtschaft

Verpackungsökobilanzen

Landwirtschaft/Bioenergieträger (Engl.)

Ökoprofile / Ökoeffizienz

Integrierte Produktpolitik

Critical Review

Ökobilanzsoftware: Umberto

-> Referenzliste "Ökobilanzen"

 
 
nach oben

 
 

Ansprechpartner

 

Jürgen Giegrich (06221/4767-21; juergen.giegrich@ifeu.de)

 
 Druckversion  Link zu dieser Seite versenden Letzte Änderung: 09. 11. 2015

 

Umberto